Wallaces Farmer

Each year, Wallaces Farmer and the Iowa Master Farmers Association select deserving candidates for the Iowa Master Farmer award.

Jennifer Carrico

August 31, 2022

2 Min Read
Close up of 2022 Iowa Master Farmer plaques
MASTER FARMERS: Candidates are being sought for the 2023 Iowa Master Farmer Award. Nominations are due Oct. 1. Jennifer Carrico

Each year since 1926, Wallaces Farmer has recognized Iowa Master Farmers. Wallaces Farmer and the Iowa Master Farmers Association are seeking nominations for this prestigious award, which has the motto “Good Farming, Clear Thinking, Right Living.” Nominations for the 2023 Iowa Master Farmer award are due Oct. 1.

Candidates should have a profitable farming operation, have clear thinking to manage the farm, and take care of their land and farm, while having a strong family and being involved in the community.

Neighbors, friends, family or business colleagues may nominate a Master Farmer candidate, or candidates may nominate themselves. Candidates can be individuals, couples or siblings farming in partnership. Candidates who do not receive the award the year they are nominated are welcome to be resubmitted, or resubmit their own names in subsequent years. The Iowa Master Farmer Foundation provides judges to select recipients.

Along with the nomination form, you need a minimum of four letters of support, including one from a neighboring farmer. The selection committee will comprise Iowa agricultural leaders, including experts in agronomy and agricultural finance, past Master Farmers, agricultural research or university authorities, and Wallaces Farmer editorial staff.

The 2023 nomination form is available online. Download the form, complete it with the letters of support and send to [email protected] by Oct. 1.

Selection criteria include:

  • Candidates must farm in Iowa, deriving most of their income from agricultural production.

  • Successful nominees will have proven agricultural production records, be recognized as leaders in their community, and will have given back to the community in substantive ways.

  • Candidates may be individuals, couples or siblings; judging is equally weighted.

  • Each nominee should be actively engaged in production agriculture.

The Iowa Master Farmer awards are sponsored by Growmark and honored each year by Wallaces Farmer and the Iowa Master Farmer Association.

About the Author(s)

Jennifer Carrico

Jennifer Carrico of Redfield, Iowa, runs a small cow-calf operation with her family. She is a former editor of Wallaces Farmer.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like