Farm Progress

Farm Bureau awards 10 ag education students

Nebraska Digest: Cattlemen Foundation name scholarship recipients; Vyhnalek to lead farm succession efforts; and NeCGA announces FLAGship Program winners

June 23, 2017

2 Min Read
AWARD PRESENTATION: Gathered are Matt Kriefels (left) with the state Department of Education; scholarship recipients Julianna Krotz, Jacob Goldfuss, Laura Lundeen, Christina Scheideler, Mattison Sullivan and Sarah Wollenburg; and Megahn Schafer, executive director with the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation.

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation recently awarded 10 scholarships to students enrolled in the Agricultural Education Teaching Program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Each recipient will receive a $1,500 scholarship during their student-teaching semester at the university. Applicants answered why they wanted to be an agricultural education teacher, professional goals for the future and what the scholarship would mean to them.

The 10 recipients of the scholarships are Jacob Goldfuss, Holt County; Mattison Sullivan, Nuckolls County; Sarah Wollenburg, Gage County; Spencer Noble, Boone County; Juliana Krotz, Lancaster County; Shawna Wheeler, Cherry County; Laura Lundeen, Kearney County; Maranda Kegley, Buffalo County; Morgan Schilling, Red Willow County; and Chris Scheideler, Greeley County.

Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation announces scholarship recipients

The Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation recently announced it has awarded $51,000 in scholarships to students furthering their education goals in the 2017-18 academic year.

David Schuler of Bridgeport was the recipient of the 2017 Nebraska Cattlemen Beef State Scholarship. This $10,000 scholarship was established in 2014 to support outstanding junior, senior or graduate level residents enrolled in a Nebraska college or university pursuing a degree related to the beef industry. Schuler will be a senior this fall at the University of Nebraska, pursuing an animal science degree, with an Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship minor.

In addition to the Beef State Scholarship, the foundation awarded 37 additional scholarships to students who were recognized at the Nebraska Cattlemen Midyear Meeting in West Point June 7 during the Nebraska Cattlemen Foundation Lunch

Vyhnalek to lead farm succession and transition effort

Nebraska Extension's educational effort focused on farm succession and transition will be led by Allan Vyhnalek, effective July 1. Vyhnalek, an Extension educator and unit leader in Platte County, will transition to the role within the Department of Agricultural Economics at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Part of Extension's programming in this area includes a workshop called, "So you've inherited a farm — Now what?" This workshop helps new owners understand what it means to own an agricultural operation. Land values and rental rates, family communication, future goals for the land, land ownership options and rental considerations are sample topics covered in this workshop.

NeCGA announces winners of spring 2017 FLAGship Program

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association recently announced winners of the Spring 2017 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program. The Grower Services Committee decided on six applicants to receive the $2,000 scholarships. The awardees are Emily Frenzen, Fullerton; Grace McDonald, Phillips; Heidi Borg, Allen; James McArtor, Grant; Jared Stander, Ashland; and Matthew Ortmeier, North Bend.

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the child of a NeCGA member. They must be a senior in high school or a college freshman who is continuing their education in an agricultural related field at an in-state school.



Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like