indiana Prairie Farmer Logo

BASF, commodity groups award scholarships

An Indiana student who captured an FFA title in 2020 is the winner of a $5,000 scholarship. Other scholarships were awarded to students around the country.

Tom J Bechman 1

May 15, 2021

1 Min Read
soybean field
PARTNERSHIP: The American Soybean Association partnered with BASF to award a scholarship to Sydney Hefty of Auburn, Ind. Tom J. Bechman

Sydney Hefty has been doing science experiments related to agriculture since the seventh grade. That kind of dedication paid off first in 2020 when she was named winner of the Agriscience division in the FFA Stars over Indiana program at the 2020 Indiana FFA state convention. It paid off again more recently when she received a $5,000 scholarship presented by BASF and the American Soybean Association.

0510S1-3409b-374x374.jpgHefty (pictured), Auburn, Ind., graduated from DeKalb High School and participated in the DeKalb FFA. Her parents are Stacy and David Hefty. She is pursuing a degree in agriculture economics at Purdue University.

Her research in high school was pointed toward developing her own natural herbicide. Her career goals include perhaps pursuing a law degree and working in corporate ag law and policy.

BASF partners with four major national commodity groups to present scholarships to outstanding students each year. Hefty was the only Indiana student receiving a scholarship in the 2021 program. Kevin Scott, president of the American Soybean Association, appreciates being able to cooperate with BASF to present Hefty with the award and says he looks forward to following her career in the future.

BASF and the National Corn Growers Association presented five $1,000 scholarships. Winners were Amelia Hayden, Sharon, Wis.; Colton Johnson, Afton, Okla.; Courtney Schrader, Earleville, Md.; Sophia Svanda, Nehawka, Neb.; and Ben Vos, Pella, Iowa.

The National Sorghum Foundation and BASF awarded $5,000 to Zoe Schultz from Grainfield, Kan. She studies ag communications at Kansas State University.

The National Wheat Foundation and BASF awarded two $2,500 scholarships. The winners were Max Harman, Inman, Kan.; and Maguire Isaak, Coulee City, Wash.

About the Author(s)

Tom J Bechman 1

Editor, Indiana Prairie Farmer

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like

Aug 29 - Aug 31, 2023
Farm Progress Show annually hosts more than 600 exhibitors displaying new farm equipment, tractors, combines and farm implements; seed and crop protection products; and many additional farm supplies and services.