Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

The deadline for nominations is March 5.

Fran O'Leary, Wisconsin Agriculturist Editor

November 16, 2020

2 Min Read
A farmstead with a red barn, silos and white house surrounded by fields
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 90 years to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first honored top Wisconsin farmers. Harlen Persinger

In 2021, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals but also their families.

The 2020 Master Agriculturists are: Charles, George, Tom and Mark Crave of Waterloo; Kent Wendorf of Viroqua; Jeff Hendrickson of Belleville; and Eric Rygg of Eau Claire.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 90 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285, or send an email to [email protected].

Deadline is March 5

Nominations must be postmarked by March 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension ag agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation.

Winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and notified by mail in March.

Due to the coronavirus, the luncheon honoring the 2020 winners was postponed. The 2021 winners will be honored along with the 2020 Master Agriculturists at a banquet this summer at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh, Wis. Past winners, friends, relatives and agribusiness people who do business with the winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon. As the uncertainty created by the coronavirus minimizes next spring, a date and details for the awards program will be announced.

The 2021 winners also will be featured in the Wisconsin Agriculturist.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to: Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919; or emailed to Fran O’Leary at [email protected].

About the Author(s)

Fran O'Leary

Wisconsin Agriculturist Editor

Even though Fran was born and raised on a farm in Illinois, she has spent most of her life in Wisconsin. She moved to the state when she was 18 years old and later graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater with a bachelor's degree in journalism.

Fran has 25 years of experience writing, editing and taking pictures. Before becoming editor of the Wisconsin Agriculturist in 2003, she worked at Johnson Hill Press in Fort Atkinson as a writer and editor of farm business publications and at the Janesville Gazette in Janesville as farm editor and feature writer. Later, she signed on as a public relations associate at Bader Rutter in Brookfield, and served as managing editor and farm editor at The Reporter, a daily newspaper in Fond du Lac.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like