Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

Wisconsin Holstein Association to award scholarships

20 members will receive $16,000 total

June 7, 2016

4 Min Read

The Wisconsin Holstein Association will be awarding $16,000 in scholarships to 20 youth. Scholarships will be awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year universities. These outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the 2017 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention in Wisconsin Dells in January.


Receiving the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Carley Krull of Lake Mills. This scholarship is in honor of Morris, who was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden's brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years. Carly is the 18-year-old daughter of Cindy Krull-Begeman and the late Brian Krull. She is a senior at Lake Mills High School and plans to attend Iowa State University to study animal science. Upon graduation she hopes to pursue a career in dairy cattle reproduction or a career as an agriculture education teacher and FFA advisor. Krull also plans to stay active on her family farm.

Austin Nauman of Norwalk will receive the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Berg was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Austin is the 18-year-old son of Danielle Nauman and Scott Stanford. He is a senior in high school at Sparta High School and plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison Farm and Industry Short Course this fall. Nauman's goals after graduation include becoming a fitter and further developing his herd, Smokin' Hot Genetics.

Erica Helmer of Plymouth will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau. Helmer is the 17-year-old daughter of John and Lynn Helmer. She is a senior at Plymouth Comprehensive High School and plans to attend UW-River Falls to study dairy science and agribusiness, with plans to pursue a career in the field of dairy genetics. She also plans to return to the home farm.  

Receiving the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship is Kennedy Stumpf of Dodgeville. This scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird who was an active Wisconsin and National Holstein Association member. Kennedy is the 18-year-old daughter of Greg and Chris Stumpf. She is a senior at Dodgeville High School and plans to attend the UW-Madison to study agriculture and applied economics. Stumpf plans to continue her education by attending law school to become an agricultural attorney.

Bethany Marcks of Black Creek. will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors John who was an active member of the Green County Junior Holstein Association and the Wisconsin Holstein Junior Activities Committee. This scholarship was established by John's parents, Richard and Roxanne Klossner, and is given to a student furthering their education at a four-year university. Marcks is the 20 yearold daughter of David and Julie Marcks and is a sophomore at UW-River Falls majoring in dairy science/pre-veterinary medicine.  

Receiving the $1,000 Marlowe Nelson Memorial Scholarship is Jordon Dittrich of Alma. The scholarship is given in in honor of Nelson whose passion was to teach and mentor young enthusiastic breeders to become more involved in the registered Holstein business. Jordon is the 17-year-old son of Don and Billie Dittrich. He is a senior at Cochrane Fountain City High School and plans to attend Southeast Technical College in Winona, Minn., to study welding. Jordon wants to use the skills he learns to do his own farm repairs.

Ten additional Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Maria Balbach of Gratiot; Rachel Coyne of Spring Valley; Zach Endres of Waunakee; Allissa Frisle of Prairie Farm; Carmen Haack of Algoma; Bryce Krull of Lake Mills; Emma Olstad of Stoughton; David Pintens of Dallas; Evan Schindler of Curtiss; and Brooke Trustem of Evansville.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the 2017 Junior Holstein Convention banquet in January, where they will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship for 2016 as well.


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like