Sponsored By
Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

Organic Valley Farmer-Owners Receive Outstanding Milk Quality AwardsOrganic Valley Farmer-Owners Receive Outstanding Milk Quality Awards

Wisconsin farmers among more than 300 recognized.

May 14, 2008

2 Min Read

As Organic Valley Family of Farms celebrates is 20th year, the cooperative of organic farmers recently recognized 340 of its farmer-owners with Organic Valley Dairy Quality awards.

Organic Valley honored it farmers in Gold, Silver and Milk Quality Recognition categories. To achieve these honors, Gold Award recipients needed an average Somatic Cell Count (SCC) of less than 150; Silver Award recipients an average SCC between 151 and 200; and Milk Quality Recognition recipients an average SCC between 201 and 250. In addition, all levels had to achieve a Standard Plate Count average below 25 and a Preliminary Incubation count averaging less than 30.

Organic Valley recognized the farmers last month during its annual meeting in La Farge, honoring the farmers for their 2007 achievements.

Farmers who received the top Gold Award in each region include:
Eastern Region: North Hardwick Dairy LLC (Meyer Family) of Hardwick, Vt.
Midwest Region: Daniel and Darlene Coehoorn, Coehoorn Family Farm, Rosendale, Wis.
Western Region: Jim and Ron Austin of Oakville, Wash.

Wisconsin farmers, by category who received Organic Valley's Dairy Quality Awards for 2007:

Gold Award Recipients

Grace Ann Matzke, Algoma
Jessica Wolfe, Arcadia
John and Jan Nadler, Chilton
Gary Loew, Chippewa Falls
Neal and Anna Koepke, Edgar
Kevin and Mary Jahnke, Lancaster
Karen Voie, Scandinavia
Ed Jossund, South Range
Robert C. Berger, Spencer
Lennie DeFere, Sturgeon Bay
Joe Kvitek, Whitelaw

Silver Award Recipients 

Joe and Toni Borgerding, Belgrade
Walen and Connie, Downingshton
Mark Steffes, Chilton
Harold Jenkins, Dalton
Mike and Julie Petherbridge, Dresser
Ed Schoenberg, Elkhorn
Chuck and Jerald Wolf, Elmwood
Steve and Anne, Kormann, Exeland
Jim Gooch, Gleason
Andrew and Kristinessell, Gleason
Edwin Z. Burkholder, Greenwood
Bill Morren and Patty Laskowski, Hillsboro
Ernest L'Heureux, Iron River
Kevin Thull, Kewaskum
Robert and Amy Colby, Maple
Gary Swanke, Markasan
Bill, Dave and Joe Dukelow, Neosho
Jim and Sabrina Langmeier, Praire DuChien
Ed and Rose Miniatt, Randolph
David A. Heidel, Random Lake
Mike and Linda Linsmeier, Reedsville
Ivan M. and Viola Yoder, Reedsville
Wayne and Jerri Cook, Rib Lake
Marty Botten and Duane Papineau, South Range
Greg and Mary Victor, Taylor
Scott Westenberg, Watertown
Robert Winkel, Waupon
Lester and Susan Martin, Withee

Milk Quality Recognition

Jon and Mary Bisek, Arcadia
Jim and Patricia, Waters, Arcadia
Don and Kris, Anibas, Arkansaw
Aaron Brown, Boscobel
Anthony and Terri Kempen, Brillion
Martin and Wilma Hoover, Colby
John and Bonnie Maedke, Coleman
Tom Miller, Columbus
Bernard Runde, Cuba City
Tom and Linda Tranel, Cuba City
Travis Tranel, Cuba City
Gary and Lisa Kiley, DePere
Gary Mosgaller, Egg Harbor
Lloyd and Dianna Scheffler, Elk Mound
Altfrid Krusenbaum, Elkhorn
Daniel and Kathy L'Heureux, Iron River
Dale Daggett, Ladysmith
Joe and Sara, Koller, Loyal
Daniel Wentworth, Manawa
Wayne and Kay Craig, New Holstein
Kathy Donvig, Soldiers Grove
Jesse and Emily Hall, Steuben
Paul and Judy Olson, Taylor
Torkel and Peggy Leum, Westby
Edwin and Linda Marks, Westby

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like