Farm Progress

New leaders elected at Minnesota FFA convention

Numerous awards were given during the 87th state event.

April 30, 2016

2 Min Read

During the final session of the 87th Minnesota State FFA Convention, six FFA members were elected to serve as the 2016-2017 Minnesota FFA Officers.

Elected to represent more than 10,000 FFA members across the state were:
•President, Spencer Wolter from the Windom FFA chapter
•Vice President, Katie Rogers from the Worthington FFA chapter
•Secretary, Wendy Bauman from the Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg FFA chapter
•Treasurer, Clay Newton from the Lakeview FFA chapter
•Reporter, Rebekka Paskewitz from the Staples-Motley FFA chapter
•Sentinel, Joe Ramstad from the Forest Lake FFA chapter


Honorary State FFA Degree
Each year, the Minnesota FFA Association recognizes the contributions of those who have made a significant impact towards the success of the membership and the organization. Many of these individuals have served in numerous leadership roles through career development events, the state officer team, the foundation or alumni events.

Eighteen recipients of the 2016 Honorary Minnesota FFA Degree were:

Laura Bidne from Jackson; Rich Bleichner from Herman-Norcross; Kristal Brogan from Spring Valley; Pam Debele from Eden Prairie; Rep. Sondra Erickson from Foley; Rebekah Haddad from Glencoe-Silver Lake; Becca Hoeft from St. Paul; Jeff Jensen from Albert Lea; Steve Johnson from Zumbrota; Dave Ladd from Woodbury; Larry Lundblad from Brainerd; Nick Milbrandt from Morris; Zach Rada from Willmar; Al Sheldon from Willmar; Mark Stone from Chaska; Veronica Ward from Forest Lake; Harmon Wilts from Kerkhoven; Eric Kaler from University of Minnesota-Twin Cities; and Fred Wood from University of Minnesota-Crookston.

Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame
The Minnesota FFA Alumni Association recognized six inductees this year to the Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame. The FFA Hall of Fame is a collaborative effort between the Minnesota FFA Association, Alumni and Foundation.

The 2016 Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame inductees include:

Dale Busch from St. James; Charles Erickson from Battle Lake; Rod Hebrink from Apple Valley; James Kelm from Red Wing; Vern Richter from Watertown; and Julie Tesch from Washington, D.C.

Stars Over Minnesota
The Star Farmer award and Stars in Production Placement, Agribusiness and Agri-Science were announced, indicating students’ commitment to their SAE over the course of multiple years. These projects, in conjunction with agriculture education courses, help increase student knowledge of agriculture. The Stars over Minnesota awards are sponsored by AgStar Financial Services. The four Stars for 2016 are:

Star in Production Placement: Juliana Pederson, Westbrook-Walnut Grove
Star in Agribusiness: Madeline Weninger, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted
Star in Agri-Science: Payton Vold, Red Rock Central
Star Farmer: Madison Whitcomb, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like