Farm Progress

Entering its 46th year, council will coordinate several ag learning experiences for the state's youth, including the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute.

November 14, 2016

2 Min Read

Nebraska Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach recently announced the selection of the 2016-17 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council. The council is comprised of Nebraska college students who have a passion for agriculture and are committed to promoting the ag industry around the state. NDA sponsors NAYC and its activities throughout the year.

"Agriculture is the No. 1 industry in Nebraska, offering a diverse and interesting range of career choices," said Ibach. "These council members will have many opportunities to talk with Nebraska's youth about agriculture and all the careers available in the industry."


NAYC is entering its 46th year with the installation of this group of council members. Throughout the year, the council coordinates several agricultural learning experiences for Nebraska youth including visiting elementary classrooms to discuss where food comes from, taking urban youth to experience farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like, and visiting with high school students from across the state. The primary focus of NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five-day summer conference for high school juniors and seniors.

"NAYC members are the future leaders of our agricultural industry," said Ibach. "I'm excited to see what these students can accomplish during their time on the council."

This year's council is comprised of 21 young men and women. The 2016-17 NAYC leadership includes:
• Rebecca Cornelius, Madrid, and Maggie Louthan , Smithfield, as head counselors
• Rachel Ibach, Sumner, as president
• Amanda Kowalewski, Gothenburg, as secretary
• Grant Suddarth, York, as vice president of promotions
• Sarah Wollenburg, Beatrice, as vice president of NAYI development
• Logan Kalkowski, Omaha, as vice president of communications and social media
• Ryan Schroeder, Wisner, as vice president of sponsorship and alumni relations:
• Hannah Borg, Wakefield, as vice president of youth outreach
• Hunter Schroeder, Howells, vice president of NAYI improvement

Additional NAYC members include Eric Leisy, Wisner; Kate Likens, Swanton; Brent Miller, Lyons; Matthew Morton, Nehawka; Brandon Nichols, Bridgeport; Jacob Schlick, Fairfield; Hannah Settje, Raymond; Kevin Sousek, Malmo; Landon Swedberg, North Platte; Collin Thompson, Eustis; and Grant Uehling, Uehling.

To learn more, visit the NAYI at or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.

Source: Nebraska Department of Agriculture

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like