Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

SD Farm Bureau announces scholarships

panida wijitpanya/Getty Images Piggybank with graduation cap and coins and scholarship written on paper
AWARDING AG PASSION: The South Dakota Farm Bureau Scholarship Fund, established in 2005, recognizes young people who have a passion for agriculture and their rural communities.
Eight recipients were given either agriculture- or community-focused awards.

To promote youth involved in agriculture and their communities, South Dakota Farm Bureau awarded $7,600 in scholarships to eight recipients. To apply, the recipients needed to a high school senior or college student, and have parents or guardians who have been members of SDFB for at least two years.

Applicants were considered for either an agriculture- or community-focused scholarship, depending on their major and experience with agriculture.

Recipients of the ag-focused awards were:

  • Everett Paul of Faith will major in precision machining at Lake Area Technical College.
  • Teigen Hadrick of Faulkton, an animal science major, will attend South Dakota State University.
  • Beth Nagel of Gettysburg will major in ag communications and ag leadership at SDSU.
  • John Piroutek of Milesville, an ag business major, will be attending SDSU.

Community-focused recipients include:

  • Brycen Cheney of Wall, a human biology major, will be attending SDSU.
  • Laney Mackaben of Belle Fourche will major in animal science and biomedical science at North Dakota State University.
  • Malia Schumacher of Pierre, a human biology and pre-med major, will attend SDSU.
  • Ruth Trautman of Huron, an accounting major, will attend Southeast Technical College.

“South Dakota Farm Bureau takes great pride in recognizing young people that have a passion for agriculture and their rural communities each year with this scholarship,” says Krystil Smit, SDFB executive director. “We are proud to continue this tradition and wish them success in their educational journey.”

The SDFB Scholarship Fund was established in 2005 by Richard and Agnes Ekstrum of Kimball, S.D. Richard served as SDFB’s president in 1975-95.

For more information about South Dakota Farm Bureau, visit

Source: South Dakota Farm Bureau, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.