Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Scholarship Briefs: Farm Tech Days, dairy youth, Compeer Financial

adventtr/Getty Images Graduation cap stacked on top of books, money, and diploma
Kewaunee County Farm Tech Days announces scholarship winners; Vernon County helps dairy youth; Compeer Financial awards 41 Wisconsin students.

Kewaunee County Farm Tech Days announces scholarship winners

The Kewaunee County Wisconsin Farm Technology Days Executive Committee has awarded scholarships to a third group of students. The scholarships are being awarded to any student in their third or fourth year of college or second year of a two-year program.

Students need to meet certain requirements to apply, including they or someone from their immediate family must have been involved in Kewaunee County Farm Technology Days 2017 as a sponsor, volunteer or vendor. They also need to have at least a 2.5 GPA and be enrolled in a postsecondary education school or technical program.

Those receiving a scholarship are:

  • Taylor Paye, a graduate of Luxemburg-Casco High School, attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Jared Baudhuin, a graduate of Southern Door High School, attending UW-Madison, majoring in dairy science
  • Katie Koppel, a graduate of Mishicot High School, attending UW-River Falls, majoring in agriculture education

A total of $6,000 was awarded in 2021, and a total of $60,000 will be awarded over a 10-year period.

Vernon County Dairy Youth Fund gives $500 scholarships

The Vernon County Dairy Youth Fund awarded two $500 scholarships to Emilie Brose, Westby, Wis., and Tommy Jones, Viroqua, Wis. Both are active Vernon County dairy youth who will be continuing their education and pursuing a career in the ag industry.

Brose will attend Iowa State University this fall, where she plans to double-major in animal science and agricultural business. Jones will attend Southwest Technical College and major in dairy farm operations/management or ag mechanics to pursue a future career in the dairy industry.

The Vernon County Dairy Youth Fund was formed to provide financial support to enhance the dairy youth development and activities for Vernon County 4-H, FFA and junior dairy breed organizations. These scholarships are being awarded due to the generosity of Vernon County individuals and businesses 26 years ago when the fund was established, as well as through 50% of the proceeds from the Champion Dairy Ribbon sales held during the Vernon County Fair.

Compeer Financial awards 41 Wisconsin students

The Compeer Financial Fund for Rural America, the corporate giving program of Compeer Financial, has awarded scholarships to students across Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. A total of 123 graduating high school seniors received a $1,500 educational scholarship.

Scholarship recipients were selected based on their academic achievement, essay writing and involvement in agricultural and community organizations. Among the 123 students, 80 recipients will pursue an agriculture-based degree, with animal science as the most popular major in the group. Seventy-one percent of the recipients will attend schools in Illinois, Minnesota or Wisconsin, and 52 different universities, colleges and technical schools are represented, with the University of Wisconsin-River Falls as the most popular school.

The Wisconsin recipients are:

  • Eryn Bates, Dallas
  • Lindsey Berg, Arcadia
  • Augustus Donovan, Richland Center
  • Hunter Fowell, La Farge
  • Nathan Garvey, Centuria
  • Bailey Gilbertson, Elk Mound
  • Jordan Gilles, Cadott
  • Elizabeth Glandt, Bangor
  • Sadie Goettl, Berlin
  • Kendra Goplin, Osseo
  • Cameron Guelig, St Cloud
  • Sarah Hagenow, Poynette
  • Alyssa Holcomb, Monticello
  • Delaney Horkan, Reedsburg
  • Mathew Karls, Waunakee
  • Elizabeth Katzman, Whitewater
  • Megan Katzung, Bagley
  • Ambrea Kjos, River Falls
  • Alisha Klemme, Plymouth
  • Tyler Laird, Cornell
  • Taylor Lindsay, Boyd
  • Amy Losinski, Fountain City
  • Ryan Lund, Cambridge
  • Natalie Mark, Elmwood
  • Evan Martin, Janesville
  • Izzi Mason, Cashton
  • Victorria Meylor, Darlington
  • Teresa Miller-Wathke, Fall Creek
  • Natalie Ott, Oshkosh
  • Skyler Powers, Waterloo
  • Lindsay Propst, Beaver Dam
  • John Schmidtknecht, Mondovi
  • Abigail Schmoldt, Slinger
  • Connor Schyvinck, Lyndon Station
  • Michael Sleik, Oshkosh
  • Lauren Thompson, Woodville
  • Drew Tuttle, Drummond
  • Lauren Weber, New Holstein
  • Hannah Wieczorek, Baraboo
  • Randall Winch, Fennimore
  • Gabriel Wohlrab, Mauston

This is the fourth year for the scholarship program from the Compeer Financial Fund for Rural America, which has now awarded 468 students with a total of $702,000 in scholarships.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.