Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
members of the 2019-2020 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council Nebraska Department of Agriculture
NEW MEMBERS: The Nebraska Department of Agriculture recently announced its selection of the 2019-20 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council.

Nebraska Ag Youth Council members announced

The group is made up of college students who promote agriculture and teach the state's youth about the industry.

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture recently announced its selection of the 2019-20 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council. NAYC members are college students who promote Nebraska agriculture and teach the state's youth about the industry and available careers. NDA sponsors NAYC and its activities throughout the year.

"NAYC is a great opportunity for student leaders to share their passion for agriculture and make a difference in the lives of young Nebraskans," NDA Director Steve Wellman says. "It's quite an honor and a responsibility to serve on NAYC. I look forward to working with these talented students and supporting them as they promote Nebraska agriculture to those who will follow in their footsteps."

NAYC is entering its 49th year with the installation of this council. Throughout the year, NAYC members coordinate and participate in a wide range of activities and events that focus on agriculture. Council members visit elementary schools to talk about where food comes from, take urban youth on farm tours to experience life on a farm, and visit with high school students about career opportunities in agriculture.

The primary focus of NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five-day summer conference for high school juniors and seniors that is full of speakers, workshops and networking opportunities.

The 2019-20 NAYC leadership includes Felicia Knoerzer, head counselor, Elwood; Courtney Nelson, head counselor, Monroe; Cooper Grabenstein, president, Smithfield; Grant Dahlgren, secretary, Bertrand; Kelli Mashino, vice president of social media/communications and promotions, Spencer; Colton Thompson, vice president of alumni relationships, Eustis; Kelsey Loseke, vice president of NAYI improvement, Blair; Wesley Wach, vice president of youth outreach, Hayes Center; and Isaac Stallbaumer, vice president of sponsorship, Oconto.

Additional NAYC members include Nick Birdsley, Omaha; Miles Eggleston, David City; Emily Hatterman, Wisner; Colin Ibach, Sumner; Cole Kalkowski, Omaha; Layne Miller, Oakland; Creighton Niemeyer, DeWitt; Tyler Perrin, Ogallala; Ralston Ripp, Kearney; Megan Schroeder, Wisner; Clayton Thomas, Bloomington, Ill.; and Josie Thompson, Wayne.

To learn more, visit NAYC's website or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.

Source: Nebraska Department of Agriculture, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.