Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

USDA designates Zavala County in Texas as Primary Natural Disaster Area

windmill, flag
Seven Texas counties eligible for emergency loans.
Six contiguous counties also eligible

Agricultural producers in Zavala County, Texas, who suffered losses and damages due to a recent drought, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The loans are made available under the authority of the Secretary of Agriculture, Sonny Perdue. 

Producers in the following contiguous Texas counties are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

  • Dimmit
  • Frio
  • Kinney
  • Maverick
  • Medina
  • Uvalde . 

Producers in all designated primary and contiguous counties will have until March 18, 2019, to apply for emergency loans to help cover part of their actual losses. 

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs in addition to the emergency loan program to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Source: USDA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.