Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

UW-Madison team wins national dairy contest

UW–Madison’s 2018 Dairy Challenge team
TOP TEAM: UW-Madison’s 2018 Dairy Challenge team includes coach Ted Halbach (left), Logan Voigts, Charles Hamilton, Connor Willems, Anthony Schmitz and coach David Combs.
Each student on the first-place National Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge team receives a $200 scholarship.

Students from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Dairy Science took first place at the National Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge, held April 12-14 in Visalia, Calif.

Dairy Challenge is an applied dairy management competition that requires students to analyze a commercial farm and present their observations and management recommendations to a panel of industry professionals. Judges include dairy producers, veterinarians, farm finance specialists and agribusiness personnel.

Thirty-four universities and two aggregate teams participated in the 2018 Dairy Challenge, with nine teams of four students competing on each of the four contest dairies. The team from University of Wisconsin-Madison included Charles Hamilton, Cuba City, Wis.; Anthony Schmitz, Fond du Lac, Wis.; Logan Voigts, Belmont, Wis.; and Connor Willems, Reedsville, Wis. They were coached by Ted Halbach, faculty associate in the UW-Madison Dairy Science Department, and David Combs, UW-Madison professor of dairy science.

The team analyzed Rancho Sierra Vista Dairy in Visalia. The freestall dairy operation milks 2,450 cows in a double-32 herringbone parlor with 22 full-time employees. The farm also raises 3,200 young stock, including dairy steers.

For the Rancho Sierra Vista Dairy competition, Cornell University placed second. Other teams that competed on this farm were: Delaware Valley University, Dordt College, Purdue University, University of Idaho, University of Illinois, University of Maine at Orono and Tarleton State University.

The first-place awards at the three other contest dairies went to California Polytechnic State University, Iowa State University and Michigan State University. Each member of the winning teams receives a $200 scholarship.

Source: UW-Madison Dairy Science Department

TAGS: Education
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.