Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
presenters and winner of  All-Breeds Futurity at Wisconsin State Fair
WINNER: Floydholm MC Emoji-ET, exhibited by Shawn (at halter) and Seth Nehls of Hustisford, Wis., won the All-Breeds Futurity at the Wisconsin State Fair. Joining Nehls and the cow are Meghan Buechel (left), Mandi Bue, Abigail Martin, Mikayla Endres, Jill Armbruster and Lauren Siemers.

Dodge County Holstein wins All-Breeds Futurity

Twelve cows competed in this inaugural competition at the Wisconsin State Fair.

By Kenni Bores

Judge Mandi Bue of Freedom, Wis., placed 12 outstanding young cows on Aug. 10 at the Wisconsin State Fair during the first All-Breeds Futurity. Since 1987, the Wisconsin Holstein Association has hosted an annual Holstein Futurity at the state fair, but this year was the first year all seven dairy breeds were eligible to show.

Taking top honors and the Best Udder award was Floydholm MC Emoji-ET, a registered Holstein exhibited by Shawn and Seth Nehls of Hustisford. They took home a $1,500 check sponsored by Compeer Financial and $50 from CentralStar Cooperative.

Second place and Best Bred and Owned was Milgene Defyin Jackolantern, exhibited by the Hildebrandt family, also from Hustisford. The Hildebrandts were awarded $750 sponsored by International Protein Sires and the Best Bred and Owned award sponsored by Lirr Farm, the Nigh family.

Rounding out the top three and the Production and Combined Fat and Protein winner was Crestbrooke A Cabernet-ET exhibited by Kyle Natzke of Fond du Lac. Agropur sponsored the $500 third-place award, and Brian Greenman, Rural Mutual Insurance agent, sponsored a prize for the production awards.

The first-place junior was Dreamfix Summer Fling exhibited by Landon and Mylie Wendorf, Dawson and Kylie Nickels, and Christian Sachse of Ixonia. They won an award sponsored by Angela Davis-Brown of Ma-Brown Holsteins and Jerseys and a cash prize sponsored by the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Association.

The Nigh family of Lirr Farm also sponsored the Best Junior Bred and Owned award. This award went to Colton and Ashley Brandel of Lake Mills, exhibiting Brand-New Iron Man Allis.

Although the cows are the stars of this show, the exhibitors dress their best in competition for the Best Dressed awards. The Best Dressed junior was Carly Strauss of Lake Mills, who won an award sponsored by the Barron County Junior Holstein Association. Brett Hildebrandt of Hustisford was awarded Best Dressed male and received an award from Robert and Karyn Schauf. Yvonne Preder sponsored the Best Dressed female award, which was awarded to Kayla Wright of Johnson Creek.

The night was led by the Master and Mistress of Ceremonies Kevin and Peggy Coffeen of De Pere. They announced the winning cows and introduced the dignitaries who were present, as well as shared Wisconsin dairy facts with the crowd. Representing the sponsors were Jill Armbruster from Compeer Financial, Ron Sersland of International Protein Sires and David Hitner from Agropur.

Royalty from across Wisconsin also attended the event and helped present awards, including Wisconsin Holstein Association Princess Lauren Siemers, Wisconsin Holstein Association Princess Attendant Mikayla Endres, Wisconsin Brown Swiss Queen Natalie Roe, Alice in Dairyland Abigail Martin and Wisconsin Fairest of the Fairs Meghan Buechel.

The Wisconsin Holstein Association All-Breeds Futurity would not have been possible without the generous donations from Compeer Financial, International Protein Sires, Agropur and Brian Greenman with Rural Mutual Insurance.

Bores was the Wisconsin Holstein Association summer intern.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.