Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
Two dairy cows lying on a bed of straw in a barn Farm Progress
DAIRY SHRINE: More than $37,000 in scholarships was awarded to 32 college students during the virtual National Dairy Shrine annual meeting.

Dennis Funk elected president of National Dairy Shrine

Funk hails from Sun Prairie, Wis. Sheila McGuirk of Dodgeville, Wis., is a new board member.

During the 71st annual meeting of the National Dairy Shrine, Dennis Funk, Sun Prairie, Wis., was elected president of the board of directors. In addition, Matt Iager, a veterinarian from Boonsboro, Md., was elected president-elect.

During the meeting, which was held virtually due to the cancellation of World Dairy Expo, a new slate of board members was also named, including: Kate Geppert, Kingdom City, Mo.; Jodi Hoynoski, Brattleboro, Vt.; Vikram Mistry, Brookings, S.D.; Sheila McGuirk, Dodgeville, Wis.; Carol Regusci, Modesto, Calif.; and Brittany Heizer, Snow Camp, N.C.

Returning board members include: Bonnie Bargstedt, Valatie, N.Y.; Randy Gross Sr., Elkton, S.D.; Linda Hanson, Goodridge, Minn.; Joel Hastings, Madera, Calif.; Stan Henderson, Paso Robles, Calif.; James Huffard, Crockett, Va.; Rita Kennedy, Valencia, Pa.; Dan Schimek, Eagle Lake, Minn.; Royce Thornton, Wooster, Ohio; and Karen Wheatley, Crumpton, Md.

Six members retired from the board at the annual meeting. Those individuals were: Jim Dickrell, Monticello, Minn.; Larry Schirm, Laurelville, Ohio; Fowler Branstetter, Edmonton, Ky.; Tim Abbott, Enosburg, Vt.; Ken Raney, State College, Pa.; and Leah Ziemba, Madison, Wis.

While the meeting was virtual, more than $37,000 in scholarships was awarded to 32 outstanding college students. Adult award winners were also recognized, although formal recognition is planned for the 2021 awards banquet.

A new approach to membership outreach and corporate sponsorships was also discussed during the meeting. A new monthly e-newsletter for members will begin in October to further the organization’s mission and increase regular contact with members. In addition, a new corporate sponsorship program will be put in place to encourage greater support of the organization. Anyone who wishes to become a new member or support the organization in other ways should email Mike Opperman, executive director, at

Source: National Dairy Shrine, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.