Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Mid-South ginners elect officers

Richard Kelley, Burlison Gin, Burlison, Tenn., has been elected president of the Southern Cotton Ginners Association for 2010.

He succeeds Robbie Winston, Peach Orchard Gin, Gideon, Mo., who will now serve as chairman of the board.

Other officers for the year are Billy Ussery, Griffin Gins, Wabash, Ark., vice president; and Sledge Taylor, Como Consolidated Gin, Como, Miss.

Tim Price was re-elected SCGA executive vice president and will serve as EVP and secretary of the member state associations.

Other officers chosen at the SCGA annual meeting, held in conjunction with the Mid-South Farm & Gin Show at Memphis, are:

Arkansas Ginners Association — Phillip Privett, GPS Gin Co., Portland, president; Billy Ussery, Griffin Gins, Helena, first vice president; Robert Dreher, Round Lake Co-op Gin, Grady, second vice president.

Louisiana Ginners Association — L. R. “Sonny” Kiry III, Caddo Farmers Gin, Belcher, president; Bobby Todd, Farmers Gin of Tallulah, Tallulah, first vice president; George LaCour, Tri-Parish Gin, Lettsworth, second vice president;

Mississippi Ginners Association — Alan Byrd, Mill Creek Gin, Lyon, president; David Cochran, Avon Gin, Inc., Avon, first vice president; Celeste Malatesta, Columbus Gin Assn., Shaw, second vice president.

Missouri Ginners Association — Riley James, A.C. Riley Cotton Co., New Madrid, president; Gary Hayes, Caruthersville Gin Co., Caruthersville, first vice president; Gregg Sain, Graves Kennett Gin Co., Kennett, second vice president.

Tennessee Ginners Association — Richard Kelley, Burlison Gin Co., Burlison, president; Eugene Pugh, Halls Gin Co., Halls, first vice president; James Wages, Farmers Gin of Humboldt, Humboldt, second vice president.

Trustees elected for the Southern Cotton Ginners Foundation are Kenneth Hood, Mississippi; Buddy Tanner, Louisiana; Neill Sloan, Arkansas; Will Wade, Tennessee; Robbie Winston, Missouri; Richard Kelley, Tennessee; and Tim Price, SCGA executive vice president.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.