Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
Cotton Transition Assistance Program CTAP will be available for 31 Southwesetrn counties in 2015
<p>Cotton Transition Assistance Program (CTAP) will be available for 31 Southwesetrn counties in 2015.</p>

31 Southwest counties are available for CTAP in 2015

Enrollment deadline for CTAP is September 30, 2015.

Eighteen Texas counties, 12 Oklahoma counties and one county in New Mexico have been declared eligible for the Cotton Transition Assistance Program (CTAP) for 2015.

Eligible Texas counties include: Angelina, Crockett, Gillespie, Grimes, Hamilton, Harris, Harrison, Hemphill, Jack, Liberty, Mason, Mills, Montague, Palo Pinto, Presidio, Rains, Rusk and Wise.

In Oklahoma, eligible counties include: Creek, Hughes, Johnston, Le Flore, Logan, McCurtain, McIntosh, Major, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Sequoyah, and Wagoner.

In New Mexico, Otero County is eligible for CTAP.

CTAP is available to producers in certain counties that are not eligible to participate in the Stacked Income Protection Plan (STAX) made available as an insurance option for cotton farmers as a result of cotton being removed as a covered commodity in the Agriculture Act of 2014. STAX is administered by the Risk Management Agency (RMA).


Most cotton-producing counties and cotton producers have STAX available and are not eligible for CTAP.

U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency Administrator Val Dolcini made the announcement of CTAP-approved counties earlier this week. Enrollment deadline is September 30, 2015.

“The Cotton Transition Assistance Program is for farms with former cotton base acres that are physically located in a county where the Stacked Income Protection Plan is unavailable,” said Dolcini. “To help us provide the best service possible, cotton producers are encouraged to schedule an appointment with their local Farm Service Agency office early in the application period.”

A complete list of counties eligible for CTAP in 2015 across the Cotton Belt is available at FSA.

For more information on CTAP and other farm program opportunities, visit a local Farm Service Agency office. 


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.