Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
2020 WCGA Officers Zeb Zuehls, Mark Hoffmann and Doug Rebout
2020 OFFICERS: The new officer team for the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association is Vice President Zeb Zuehls (left), Secretary-Treasurer Mark Hoffmann and President Doug Rebout.

Wisconsin Corn Growers elects board members, officers

The state corn growers association held its annual meeting at the 2020 Wisconsin Corn/Soy Expo.

The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association held its board of directors election at its annual meeting on Feb. 6, during the 2020 Wisconsin Corn/Soy Expo in Wisconsin Dells.

Mike Berget and Mark Hoffmann, incumbents, were reelected to serve second terms. Hoffmann was the 2019 WCGA secretary-treasurer and farms 1,100 acres of corn and soybeans with his wife, Deb, and two of his children, Lexus and Kelby, near Whitewater. Hoffmann has been active in local town government for the past 21 years, serving as chairman for 11 of those years. He has also been actively involved with the local FFA chapter.

Berget farms over 9,500 acres of corn, 700 acres of soybeans and 300 acres of wheat, and raises over 48,000 weaned pigs each year in the Darlington area. He farms with his wife, Judy, and children Matt, Scott, Christina and Meghan. He has been a member of the Wiota Fire Department for 49 years and spent four years on the Lafayette County Farm Service Agency Loan Committee. Berget is also active in his local watershed group, Lafayette Agriculture Stewardship Alliance.

Loren Jesch, sales manager for Legacy Seeds, was reelected to serve as an affiliate director. Jesch is an active supporter of the Wisconsin FFA Foundation and FFA plots throughout the state. He is a graduate of North Dakota State University and proudly served his country in Iraq as a member of the North Dakota National Guard.

Shane Goplin was elected to serve his first three-year term as a director. He is replacing Ben Augustine of Sheldon, who completed his maximum term limit. Goplin farms over 3,000 acres of corn, soybeans and alfalfa in Trempealeau County. He is active in Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation and currently serves as the Trempealeau County Farm Bureau president. He is also active in helping the local FFA chapter where his wife, Melinda, is the agriculture instructor. Goplin is involved with the Elk Creek Watershed Group.

At a reorganization meeting immediately following the annual meeting, the WCGA board of directors named their 2020 officer team. Doug Rebout of Janesville was reelected president. Zeb Zuehls was elected vice president; and Mark Hoffmann was reelected secretary-treasurer. At-large directors include Mike Berget, Jim Emmert, James Giese, Shane Goplin, Casey Kelleher and Steve Knoebel. Andrew Grebner and Loren Jesch continue as affiliate directors, and Joe Lauer, University of Wisconsin-Extension corn specialist, is ex-officio.

Source: Wisconsin Corn Growers Association, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.