Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Texas Corn Producers Board election results announced

Four incumbents return, one new director

In the thirteenth statewide election since the Texas Corn Producers Board became a statewide entity in 1990, five board members were elected or re-elected in the organization’s biennial elections held in January.

Jarret Bowers of Dallam County will join this board this year, representing Voting Region One. Mark Howard of Dallam County was also re-elected to represent this voting region that covers the Panhandle. Scott Averhoff of Ellis County and Aaron Martinka of Milam County were re-elected to serve in Voting Region Three, which encompasses North and Central Texas. Charles Ring of San Patricio County will continue to serve in Voting Region Four – covering the Coastal Bend.

The Texas Department of Agriculture ratified the results of the elections Monday, Feb. 12.

The state is divided into five separate "voting regions" to ensure TCPB board seats best reflects corn production across the state, so corn farmers’ interests are adequately represented. There are 15 board seats on TCPB; the voting regions are designed for each seat to represent 1/15th of the total corn production in Texas, as reported by the Texas Crop Reporting Service. A map and complete list of board members is available online

The five board members will be sworn in on March 28, 2018, during TCPB's next board meeting in Fort Worth by Patrick Dudley, Texas Department of Agriculture. Each person elected will serve a six year term, or until the year 2024.

News releases and legal notices on the referendum and elections were sent to major newspapers in the regions where elections were held. The voting period was from Jan. 15-29, 2018.

 The next election will be in 2020 with five seats up for election.


TAGS: Crops
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.