Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

SW corn farmers produce impressive NCGA yields

Shelley E. Huguley swfp-shelley-huguley-terrell-corn-harvest-20-7.jpg
National Corn Growers Association announces national and state winners.

Southwest corn producers entered some impressive production numbers in the 2020 National Corn Growers Association National Corn Yield Contest in a year that offered unprecedented challenges, including adverse weather and the COVID-19 pandemic.

NCGA, in a release announcing national winners, noted producers’ success reflects their “resilience and the value of modern seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices.”

Top national honors go to Don Stall, Charlotte, Michigan, with a yield of 476.9052 bushels per acre.

In the Southwest, producers demonstrated potential to make high yields across numerous production practices in both irrigated and dryland systems.

Tommy and Valerie Cartrite, Sunray, Texas, claim the top yield from the Southwest (Oklahoma, New Mexico and Texas) with 315.23 bushels per acre.

The Cartrites earned that honor with Pioneer P1828Q hybrid in the irrigated, conventional till category.

Jody Bezner, Texline, Texas, came in second in that same category with 310.777 bushels per acre from Pioneer P1108Q.

Austin Sage, Texline, Texas, recorded a 305-bushel yield with Pioneer P1572AM in the Oklahoma contest in the Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated category.

Also topping 300 bushels, Allen Pfannstiel, Dalhart, Oklahoma, planted Pioneer P1311AMXT and recorded 305.9 bushels in the conventional till, irrigated category.

SW State results

Other notable Southwest producers include:


Conventional Non-Irrigated

1. Gayla Ledbetter, Okmulgee, AgriGold A6572 VT2PRO 222.7226

2. Michael Killmer, Weleetka, Dyna-Gro D56VC46RIB 220.8199

3. Dakota Arthur, Pauls Valley, Pioneer P1828AMΠ216.7699


Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated

1. Austin Sage, Texline, 305.0560, Pioneer P1572AM

2. Mindy Pfannstiel, Dalhart, 285.2317, Pioneer P1828Q

3. Fred Fischer, Hooker, 282.7843 Pioneer P1828Q


Conventional Irrigated

1. Allen Pfannstiel, Dalhart, 305.9035, Pioneer P1311AMXT

2. Nathan Johnson, Boise City, 305.9035, Pioneer P1108Q 305.9035

3. Todd J. Mason, Goodwell, 288.5403 Pioneer P1828Q



Conventional Non-Irrigated

1. Keith Kresta, Wharton, 236.9343, Pioneer P1847VYHR

 2. Chet Zdunkewicz, Needville, 235.1663, Pioneer P2089VYHR

3. Justin N Hansen, Lorena, 234.5431, Dyna-Gro D57VC51


 No-Till Non-Irrigated

1. Brian Fink, Cost, 166.0766, Pioneer P1847VYHR

Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Non-Irrigated

1. Rick Wilson, Decatur, 227.9253, Pioneer P1464VYHR

 2. Brian Fink, Cost, 173.5964, Pioneer P1464VYHR


Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated

1. Jody Bezner, Texline, 286.7418, Pioneer P1828Q

2. Chandler Preston, Dumas, 286.1062,

Pioneer P1366AML


Conventional Irrigated

1. Tommy & Valerie Cartrite, Sunray, 315.2357, Pioneer P1828Q

2. Jody Bezner, Texline, 310.777, Pioneer P1108Q


New Mexico

Strip, Min, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated

  1. Angilene, Jim, Farmington, 219.6935, Pioneer P1082AM


 Conventional Irrigated

  1. Angilene, Jim, Farmington, 221.4268, Channel 203-44STXRIB

Fifty-six Years

The National Corn Yield Contest, now in its 56th year, remains NCGA’s most popular program for members.

“This contest brings farmers together to create, innovate and explore ways to optimize the nation’s largest and arguably most important crop,” said Debbie Borg, chair of NCGA’s Member and Consumer Engagement Action Team. “At both the state and national levels, contest winners find new ways to excel while using a variety of techniques. Ultimately, the invention and improvement by farmers and input providers enable U.S. farmers to continue to meet the future demand for critical food, feed, fuel and fiber.”

The 27 national winners in nine production categories had verified yields averaging more than 345.9948 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 175 bushels per acre. While there is no overall contest winner, yields from the first, second and third place farmers, overall production categories topped out at 274.2037 bushels per acre.

Winners are traditionally honored in March during Commodity Classic. With the convention moving to a virtual format in 2021, NCGA is working with sponsors to find an alternative means to recognize the accomplishments of yield contest winners.

Please visit the National Corn Growers Association National Yield contest site,  for the complete list of 2020 National and State winners, including the list of all 2020 NCYC entrants.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.