Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
corn harvesting

North Dakota tops South Dakota in National Corn Yield Contest

The highest yield from North Dakota in the national contest was 299.78 bushels per acre.

Farmers in North Dakota and South Dakota produced yields of 299+ bushels per acre in the National Corn Yield Contest this year.

The top yield in North Dakota was 299.78 bushels per acre, while the top yield in South Dakota was 299.33 bushels per acre. Both were in the non-irrigated category of the contest.

Steve Huber of Berlin was the winner in North Dakota, and Scott McKee of Hawarden, Iowa, (he farms in South Dakota) was the winner in South Dakota.

Both men have won the state yield title before.

Four other South Dakota cracked the 290-bushel yield mark this year. They were Kory Standy of Platte, Travis Mockler of Centerville, Steve Breding of Chamberlain and Dean Bosse of Elk Point.

In North Dakota, Betty Huber of Berlin — who farms with her husband Steve Huber — had two 298 bushel per acre entries.

There are four divisions in the contest — non-irrigated, no-till/strip till non-irrigated, irrigated, and no-till/strip till irrigated.

The 2018 South Dakota and North Dakota corn yield contest winners by division, with seed brand, hybrid and yield, are:

table corn yield contest winners

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.