Farm Progress

New directors will be chosen for Iowa Corn Promotion Board on July 17.

July 16, 2018

3 Min Read
YOUR VOTE COUNTS: Directors who serve on ICPB decide how to spend the funds generated by the state corn checkoff.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board will hold director elections in Crop Reporting Districts 4, 5, 8 and 9 on July 17. Iowa corn farmers elect their peers to serve on the ICPB to oversee the investment of funds generated by the Iowa corn checkoff. Voting will take place at local county ISU Extension offices for the candidates’ representation on the board for a three-year term.

The board’s primary priorities and responsibilities include domestic and foreign market development, research into new and value-added corn uses, and education on corn and the farmers who grow it.

Who is eligible to vote?
Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous marketing year (Sept. 1, 2016, to Aug. 31, 2017) is eligible to vote. Election results will be made public July 23.

Candidates currently running are:

USDA Crop Reporting District 4 (Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Sac, Shelby and Woodbury)
• Larry Buss, Harrison County
• Brandon Strutzenberg, Calhoun County

USDA Crop Reporting District 5 (Boone, Dallas, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama and Webster)
• Michael Fritch, Jasper County
• Rod Pierce, Boone County  

USDA Crop Reporting District 8 (Appanoose, Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Ringgold, Union, Warren and Wayne)
• Corwin Fee, Marion County
• Gary Petersohn, Ringgold County

USDA Crop Reporting District 9 (Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Mahaska, Van Buren, Wapello and Washington)
• Paul Gieselman, Louisa County
• Stan Nelson, Des Moines County

ICPB works to develop and defend markets, fund research projects and provide education and information about corn and corn products. For more information, visit

Iowa Corn 300
In other news, the Iowa Corn Growers Association thanks it’s members and IndyCar fans for a successful Iowa Corn 300 race. The 12th annual race was July 8 at Iowa Speedway in Newton.

“It’s a great way to showcase corn-based ethanol to consumers, with ethanol powered racecars performing well and attracting attention of race fans everywhere,” says ICGA President Mark Recker.


WINNING WITH ETHANOL: Iowa Corn Grower Association leaders gather around winning driver James Hinchcliffe, congratulating him in victory lane at this year’s Iowa Corn 300 race.

Promoting ethanol to a worldwide audience, the 2018 race saw driver James Hinchcliffe bring home his first win at the Iowa Corn 300, taking the lead with just over 40 laps remaining. This year’s race included unique aspects showcasing Iowa Corn farmers and the corn-based ethanol that fuels IndyCars.

The new “pit-row-of-corn” with fuel nozzles coming out of the stalks on the infield and the corn start-finish line on the track at Iowa Speedway were highlights making the connection to the cornfields of Iowa and ethanol-powered racing on the track.

ICPB President Duane Aistrope gave the race its official start by saying, “Drivers, start your Iowa corn ethanol-powered engines,” while Recker waved the green flag. Aistrope and Recker presented Hinchcliffe with the Iowa Corn 300 trophy in victory lane.

More than 1,500 ICGA members attended. “This race offers fans an up-close view of the power and performance of corn-ethanol,” Aistrope says. “Corn farmers work hard to raise a corn crop each year, and Iowa Corn works hard on their behalf to expand consumer access to ethanol-blended fuel wherever motorists pull up to the pump. This race is a great way to remind consumers to fill up like the pros.”

Source: Iowa Corn Growers Association


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like