Ohio Farmer

Quick Take: Animal medicine students awarded scholarships; Ohio names acting state conservationist.

June 2, 2021

3 Min Read
farmer holding ear of corn in front of corn field
MENTAL HEALTH: A new award seeks to recognize groups or individuals working to find innovative solutions to farmer mental health issues. Nominations are due July 23. John Fedele/Getty Images

A new award seeks to recognize groups or individuals working to find innovative solutions to farmer mental health issues

The “Y Prize” was created from the Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Fund. More than 300 donors have contributed more than $80,000 to recognize Lesicko’s life and career. Lesicko, a former Ohio Farm Bureau vice president of public policy who died unexpectedly in June 2020, helped create the state’s “Got Your Back” farm stress coalition.

The Y Prize award winner will be given a platform to share their work and efforts. Ohio Farm Bureau will feature the award winner in membership and outside media, and the Young Ag Professionals Winter Leadership Experience will feature the award as part of the conference program.

Nominations are now being accepted. Visit ofb.ag/yprizenomination to complete the nomination form by the July 23 deadline. If you would like to contribute to the Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Fund, visit ofb.ag/lesickomemorial.

OSU animal medicine students awarded scholarships

Chloe Baker and Jocosa Yasenchack, students at Ohio State University, are two of 54 students from around the world to be awarded scholarships through a partnership between Merck Animal Health and American Veterinary Medical Foundation.

Now in its eighth year, the selected second- and third-year students pursuing careers in companion animal or large animal medicine will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to support their educational endeavors.

Award recipients from U.S., Canadian and Caribbean veterinary schools accredited through AVMF, along with select international schools, were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, leadership and area of interest within the profession. 

Lori Ziehr named acting state conservationist

Lori Ziehr has been named Ohio’s acting state conservationist. She comes to the Buckeye State from Texas, where she served as the assistant state conservationist (ASTC) for programs.

During her 23 years with USDA’s Natural Resources Conservation Service, Ziehr has served in technical positions such as rangeland management specialist and agronomist, in addition to technology and leadership positions. She also served as acting ASTC for management and strategy in Louisiana and acting state conservationist in Montana.

During her time in Ohio, Ziehr looks forward to learning more about Ohio’s unique partnerships associated with the Great Lakes and visiting the state’s many farm operations and urban agriculture programs.

John Wilson, who preceded her, was recently selected as the deputy state conservationist in Arkansas.

Wilson and Ziehr will transition to their new roles on June 6.

For more information about Ohio NRCS programs and technical assistance, visit oh.nrcs.usda.gov.

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation awards nearly $50,000 in scholarships

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation recently awarded nearly $50,000 in scholarships to students across the state. The foundation annually recognizes Ohio students for their academic effort, community engagement and career interests that link agriculture to community service, education or scientific research.

Here are the award winners:

Bill and Helen Swank Scholarship. Kameron Rinehart of Jeffersonville

Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Scholarship. Haven Hileman of Stout

Jack Fisher Scholarship. Mary Baker of Wooster; Olivia Blay of Mogadore; Maryellen Bliss of Ashland; Cora Dorman of Croton; Caleb Durheim of Sunbury; Haven Hileman of Stout; Stephanie Hirsch of Chillicothe; Mekenzie Jolliff of Kenton; Chyann Kendal of Eaton; and Kameron Rinehart of Jeffersonville

Richard and Carole Cocks Scholarship. Wyatt Kissell of Mount Vernon; Clay Schoen of Jeromesville; Hayden Shook of Coshocton; and Brandon Zuercher of Jenera

Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship. Caleb Durheim of Sunbury; Haven Hileman of Stout; and Halle Miller of Creston

Darwin Bryan Scholarship. Cora Dorman of Croton; Haven Hileman of Stout; Mekenzie Jolliff of Kenton; Chyann Kendal of Eaton; Sarah Lehner of Delaware; and Meredith Oglesby of Hillsboro

Kenny Walter Scholarship Fund. Maryellen Bliss of Ashland and Sean Ward of Euclid

Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar Award. Cora Dorman of Croton; Caleb Durheim of Sunbury; Melanie Fuhrmann of Wheelersburg; Haven Hileman of Stout; Chyann Kendel of Eaton; Meredith Oglesby of Hillsboro; Kameron Rinehart of Jeffersonville; and Clare Sollars of Washington Court House

The Ohio Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Association Scholarship. Lenore Kohl of Forest and Emma Leggett of Uhrichsville

Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship. Haven Hileman of Stout

Joseph Kelly Memorial Scholarship. Jazmine Auble of Wellington and Taylor Kenska of Elyria

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like