Wallaces Farmer

Eighty-nine families receive Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards

Awards presented by the Governor’s Office, IDALS and Department of Natural Resources to families embracing environmental conservation practices.

August 24, 2021

6 Min Read
Corn fields and rolling hills
ENVIRONMENTAL LEADERS: The Iowa Environmental Leader Awards acknowledge farmers who take voluntary actions to improve and protect the environment and Iowa's natural resources while serving as leaders in their farming communities. This includes farmers who use practices like cover crops, wetlands, bioreactors and saturated buffers.Tyler Harris

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Julie Kenney and Department of Natural Resources Director Kayla Lyon recognized 89 farm families for their environmental stewardship during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair. Recipients are from the last two years, including 42 from 2020 and 47 from 2021. The award acknowledges farmers who take voluntary actions to improve and protect the environment and Iowa’s natural resources, while serving as leaders in their farming communities.

These farm families use scientifically proven practices like cover crops, wetlands, bioreactors and saturated buffers that support the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy. The recipients recognize the benefits of conservation practices extend beyond their fields to residents downstream, and their leadership encourages others to adopt similar conservation practices.

“For generations, Iowa farmers have led in conservation efforts and continue to be excellent stewards of the land,” Reynolds said. “They go above and beyond improving water quality and soil health, serving as a  model for others to follow. The 2021 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards is one way we say thank you, and recognize farmers for all they do.”

“These are the farmers and landowners who are making significant, long-term investments to protect their farming legacies. As leaders in their own communities, they’re showing others how to do the same,” Naig said. “This program is a great opportunity to honor these individuals for their hard work. They’re making meaningful, impactful changes to our soil and water, and helping the state advance the goals outlined in the [Iowa] Nutrient Reduction Strategy.”

“We always have great joy in honoring and recognizing these leaders in our farming communities throughout our state that put healthy conservation practices on the forefront of their operations,” Lyon said. “It’s now more important than ever that we focus on protecting and enhancing our natural resources — especially our water quality and land quality.”

Since the creation of the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award in 2012, more than 650 Iowa farm families have been recognized by the governor, lieutenant governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (IDALS) and Department of Natural Resources. A list of previous recipients can be found at iowaagriculture.gov/farm-environmental-leader-awards.

The awards were sponsored by Bayer CropScience. The winners were chosen by a committee representing both conservation and agricultural groups.

The 2020 and 2021 award recipients, listed alphabetically by last name, include:

• Eric and Darla Andersen and family, Grundy County
• Tom Barry, Kay Barry, Harrison County
• Murray and Connie Beinhart, Wapello County
• Sam and Danielle Bennett, Ida County
• Adam and Kristine Binder, Clay County
• Thomas and Linda Bindner, Cherokee County
• Blough Dairy — Richard, Sue, Josh and Rachel Blough, Hawk County
• Wayne Brunsman, Delaware County
• Richard A Burger, Appanoose County• Genesus Farms, Fayette County
• Bruce Carney, Carney Family Farms, Story County
• Tim Couser, Greenfield Farms, Story County
• Luke and Linda Croghan, Shelby County
• Long-Crow Farms, Marshall County
• Kirk and Diane Den Herder, Sioux County
• Larry and Kim Deppe Farm, Jackson County
• Red Fern Farm — Kathy Dice and Tom Wahl, Louisa County
• Dan, Annette, Drew, and Shannon Dietz, Chickasaw County
• Trent and Jerri Dight family, Floyd County
• Glenwood Century Farm — Wade Dooley, Marshall County
• Ra Farms: Ralph and Becky Dorale, Crawford County
• Eivins Evergreen Pond Farm, Marvin and Lillian Eivins, Madison County
• Roger Fullenkamp, Lee County
• Jake and Dellisa Geisler and Geisler Pork Farms LLC, Webster County
• DJ Goodman Farms, Darin and Jamie Goodman, Pottawattamie County
• Earl B., Tanya and Jeromy Greiner, Keokuk County
• Hatlen Family Farms, Buena Vista County
• April Hemmes, Franklin County
• Prairie Skye Productions — Chris Henning, Greene County
• Hermiston Farms Inc. — Colin and Shannon Hermiston, Morgan Hermiston, Cedar County
• Jamie Hostetler, Jackson County
• Eric and Jessica Hunziker, Sac County
• Ben and Amy Johnson, Andy and Abbie Johnson, Floyd County
• Brent and LuAnn Johnson, Calhoun County
• Jóia Food Farm and Center View Farms: Wendy Johnson and John Rafkin, Erwin and Yoshiko Johnson, Floyd County
• Kadner Farms, Grundy County
• Kevin Kelly, Cedar County
• John Kerkove, Buchanan County
• The Jim and Jody Kerns family, Delaware County
• Eric and Susan J Knapp and Sons, Davis County
• Patty Koller, Lee County
• Glenn and Michelle Kreuder, Decatur County
• Rodger and Karen Krogmeier, Jefferson County
• Sam Kvidera, Tama County
• AJ Lackore Farms Inc., Winnebago County
• Daryl Landsgard, Clayton County
• Dale Launstein, John Launstein and Ray Launstein, Grundy County
• L3 Farms: Nathan and Laina Legler, Humboldt County
• Kurt Lehman, Lynda Lehman, Tony Lem, Ashlea Lem, Polk County
• Lance and Heidi Lillibridge, Benton County
• Mark, William and Jerome Loutsch, Plymouth County
• Hawkeye Buffalo and Cattle Ranch, Martha McFarland, Chickasaw County
• Monck Farms Inc., Jones County
• Art Moss and Sons Inc. — Craig and Hayley Moss,  Arlan and Ruth Moss, Sioux County
• Paul Mugge, O'Brien County
• Neff Brothers, Marshall County
• Brad and Lynn Ohrt, Grundy County
• Olson Farms, Brian and Katie Olson, Pocahontas County
• John and Jill O'Neal, Montgomery County
• Craig and Mary Pfantz, Marshall County
• Steve and Tracy Pickhinke, Sac County
• E A Price Farms, Pocahontas County
• Kevin and Lisa Rasmussen, Humboldt County
• Tim and Darla Recker, Fayette County
• Jerry and Georgia Rice, David and Julie Rice, Keokuk County
• Jim and Donna Robinson, Montgomery County
• Rosmann Family Farms — Ron Rosmann and Maria Vakulskas Rosmann, David, Daniel and Mark Rosmann, Shelby County
• Roth Farm, Black Hawk County
• Edmund and Barbara Ruff Family Farm, Clayton County
• Casey and Lisa Schomaker, Clay County
• Austin Schulte Dairy, Benton County
• Greg and Aimee Shepherd, Henry County
• Phil Short, Buchanan County
• Green Iron Farms, Tim and Ethel Sieren, Washington County
• Jeremy Sills, Tama County
• Adam, Lindsay, Clara, Culee and Canon Smith, Davis County
• Dennis and Patty Staudt, Floyd County
• Dennis J. Strother, Franklin County
• Stuart Swanson, Wright County
• Clark Thompson, Story County
• Treinen Cattle Co., Buena Vista County
• David and Paula Trevitt, Des Moines County
• Valley View Farms, Roger and Louise Van Ersvelde, Poweshiek County
• Van Horn Farms, Carroll County
• Vander Wilt Farm, Arvin and Carolyn Vander Wilt, Mahaska County
• Kirk and Lynell Vorthmann and Kelby and Jennifer Vorthmann, Pottawattamie County
• James and Stacie Wendel, Howard County
• Larry K. Winkelpleck, Larry L. Winkelpleck, Jon Winkelpleck, Zach Winkelpleck, Tama Count
• Wright 5 Farms, Taylor County

Source: Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, which is responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and its subsidiaries aren't responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like