Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Conner appoints new members to the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics Advisory Board

Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner announced the appointment of 10 new members to serve on the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics Advisory Board. The NAREEE board advises the secretary of agriculture and land-grant colleges and universities on national priorities and policies for food and agricultural research, education, extension and economics.

In addition to providing policy guidance to USDA on its Research, Education and Economics (REE) mission area, the board meets with congress, holds stakeholder listening sessions, reviews draft guidance for competitive-grant programs, and advises the Agricultural Research Service on its scientific peer review process for national programs. The board also conducts an annual review of all agricultural research, extension, or education activities conducted or funded by USDA for relevance to national priorities and adequacy of funding, and advises REE on its draft Strategic Plan.

The NAREEE Advisory Board will hold a public meeting on Oct 29-31, 2007 at the Double Tree Hotel in Washington, DC. The meeting is open to the public.

The board is made up of 31 members, each of whom represents a specific category of U.S. agricultural stakeholders as outlined in 1996 and 2002 farm bill legislation. Each member serves a 3-year appointment effective October 1, 2007. Terms for members overlap so every year a third of the Board is newly appointed.

Newly appointed members are:

Nancy M. Cox, Director, Kentucky Agricultural Experimental Station, Associate Dean for Research, University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Lexington, KY

Martin A. Massengale, (Reappointment), President Emeritus, Director, Center for Grassland Studies; Foundation Distinguishing Professor, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, Lincoln, NE

Alton Thompson, (Reappointment), Dean and Research Director, School of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, NC

John E. Salois, (Reappointment), President, Blackfeet Community College, Browning, MT

Thomas J. Rosol, Dean and Professor, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH

Calvin M. Dooley, President and CEO of the Grocery Manufacturers Association/Food Products Association (GMA/FPA), Washington, DC

Walter J. Armbruster, (Reappointment), President, Farm Foundation and Chair, Specialty Crop Committee, Oakbrook, IL

Robin A. Douthitt, Dean, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI

Steven P. Quarles, Partner & Chair of Law Firm's, Crowell & Moring LLP, Environmental and Natural Resources; (Former Deputy Under Secretary, Department of Interior), Washington, DC

Edward C.A. Runge, Senior Adviser and Professor & Billie B. Turner, Chair (Emeritus), Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.