Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN
Amie Osborn competes at national Young Farmers and Ranchers Discussion Meet Indiana Farm Bureau
GIFTED AT DISCUSSION: Amie Osborn of Miami County, Ind., placed third in the national Young Farmers and Ranchers Discussion Meet hosted by AFBF.

Hoosiers earn recognition at state, national levels

Indiana agriculture continues to produce strong leaders for the new decade.

Strong, committed, visionary leaders in various segments of Indiana agriculture have always been a hallmark that sets the state apart. New leaders continue to emerge, boding well for Indiana agriculture in the new decade. At the same time, leaders who have quietly led from strength for decades continue to contribute and receive recognition.

Here is a closer look at some of Indiana’s leaders who have earned recognition or been placed in positions of leadership over the past few weeks:

Randy Kron. Kron, Indiana Farm Bureau president and a farmer from Evansville, was elected to a one-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation board of directors. Sources say the board consists of 34 members, primarily presidents from various states. The last Hoosier to serve on the board was Don Villwock, a former INFB president, Edwardsport.

“As an Indiana farmer, and as someone who has traveled the Midwest region, I’m passionate about representing our region and our specific interests at the national level,” Kron says.

Amie Osborn. This transplanted Hoosier placed third in the prestigious Young Farmer and Rancher Discussion Meet held in Austin, Texas, at the American Farm Bureau Federation convention earlier this year. Originally from California, Osborn now lives in Miami County, where she is vice president of commercial and agriculture lending at First Farmers Bank and Trust in Converse. She earned a master’s degree in ag economics at Purdue University and put that training to good use in obtaining her high finish in national competition.

Joseph Stoller, Andrew Miller, Kevin Burbrink. Three new farmer-leaders were elected to the Indiana Soybean Alliance board of directors for 2020. Stoller is owner of J.R. Stoller Farms in Marshall and Elkhart counties. He’s been a full-time farmer since 2010. Miller, Oaktown, grows soybeans and corn on his farm that spans Knox and Greene counties. Burbrink, Seymour, raises soybeans, corn and wheat in Jackson County. He has also raised popcorn, tomatoes, green beans and cucumbers for pickles.

Natasha Cox, Paul Hodgen, J.R. Roesner, David Ring, Josh Miller. These five leaders ran unopposed for spots on the Indiana Corn Marketing Council board and were reelected. Cox and her husband farm in Benton County. Hodgen, Roachdale, farms in Putnam, Montgomery, Tippecanoe and Hendricks counties. Roesner, Ferdinand, and his brothers Eric and William farm in Dubois, Pike, Spencer and Warrick counties. Ring raises corn, soybeans and wheat near Huntingburg. Miller, Anderson, is president of ICMC.

Miller is also a board member on the U.S. Grains Council. The council is charged with developing export markets for U.S. barley, corn, sorghum, dried distillers grain and ethanol.

Joe MooreKelley Scheiss, David Helms, Steve Ritter and Deryl Hunt

ELECTED TO SERVE: Elected as IBCA-IBC directors recently were Kelley Scheiss (left), David Helms, Steve Ritter and Deryl Hunt.

Steve Ritter, Deryl Hunt, David Helms, Kelley Sheiss. Four area directors were elected to serve on the Indiana Beef Cattle Association and Indiana Beef Council board of directors during a series of area meetings held recently. Newly elected were Ritter, Norman; Hunt, Greenfield; and Helms, Galveston. Sheiss, Larwill, was re-elected.

New IBCA officers elected at the group’s annual meeting include Neal Smith, Pendleton, president; Chad Lanum, Flora, president-elect; Jill Duncan, Wingate, vice president; and Andrew Stewart, Greensburg, treasurer.  

Comments? Email

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.