is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

CFTC announces ag roundtable participants

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission has released the participant list for an April 22 roundtable discussion on the agricultural markets. The roundtable is designed to gather information about whether the futures markets are properly performing their risk management and price discovery roles.

In addition to CFTC participants, the roundtable will include participants from the following: USDA, Farm Credit Administration, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, University of Illinois, Urbana, CME Group, ICE Futures US, Minneapolis Grain Exchange, American Bankers Association, Goldman Sachs, AIG, Gresham Investment Management LLC, PIMCO, Dunavant Enterprises, American Cotton Shippers Association, National Cotton Council of America, AMCOT, National Grain and Feed Association, National Wheat Growers Association. Grain Service Corporation, National Corn Growers, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, American Soybean Association, National Farmers Union, American Farm Bureau Federation Commodity Markets Council, American Bakers Association, Independent Bakers Association, Michigan Agribusiness Council and the USA Rice Federation/US Rice Producers Association

The hearing will begin April 22, at 9 a.m. Hearing doors will open at 8:30 a.m., at the CFTC Hearing Room, first floor, Three Lafayette Centre, 1155 21st St., NW, Washington, D.C., 20581.

Due to significant space limitations in the Commission’s hearing room, the CFTC is offering several avenues for interested members of the public to access the roundtable.

You can watch a broadcast of the roundtable live via Web cast on Call-in participants should be prepared to provide their name and affiliation. Call domestic toll free, at 866-759-0291, international toll, 763-416-8828. Call leader name is “CFTC.”

Members of the public may submit questions to be considered for use during the roundtable. All questions should be sent to The deadline for question submissions is 5 p.m. EDT, Friday, April 18, 2008. Submitting a question guarantees it will be considered, but does not guarantee it will be asked during the roundtable.

Participants and members of the public may submit written statements for the official record. Statements should be sent to All written statements must be received by 5 p.m. EDT, Wednesday, May 7, 2008.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.