Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
North Dakota Stockmen’s Association board of directors group
NDSA DIRECTORS: The North Dakota Stockmen’s Association board of directors gather at their annual meeting.

North Dakota Stockmen elect officers, directors

The North Dakota Stockmen’s Association has a diverse group of producers leading the organization in 2020.

North Dakota Stockmen’s Association members tapped McVille, N.D., cow-calf producer Dan Rorvig for a second term as the organization’s president at NDSA’s recent 90th convention and trade show.

The 31-year NDSA member manages a cow-calf herd, backgrounds yearlings and develops bred heifers with his wife, Teresa, and their family. The couple have two children, daughter Amy Smith and son Scott. Rorvig served on the NDSA Budget Committee, was a District 1 director, and the vice chairman and chairman of the NDSA Ag Policy Committee before assuming the NDSA’s top post.

“I am excited to serve another term as president of such a great organization that has a long and respected relationship with both state and national lawmakers so that we can continue to make a difference in the cattle industry and make our grassroots members voices heard,” Rorvig said.

Jeff Schafer, a 30-year member from New Rockford, N.D., was re-elected NDSA vice president. Schafer and his wife, Leann, have three children, Chelsey, Colten and Corey. Schafers’ Rhein Valley Farm is a sixth-generation diversified farm and ranch operation with a 400-head Angus cow-calf enterprise, a 999-head backgrounding and finishing feedlot, feeder pigs, and crops of corn, soybeans, pinto beans and seed oats.

Before being elected vice president, Schafer was a District 1 director, chaired the NDSA Brand Board, vice-chaired the NDSA Research and Education Committee, and served on the NDSA Budget and Resolutions Committees.

NDSA members also elected or re-elected six directors to represent their respective districts:

District 1. Cliff Sanders Jr., of Clifford, N.D., was elected to a first four-year term. He raises Longhorn-cross cattle and sells roping stock. Sanders is also an auctioneer and owns his own auction company. He and wife Ladina have a daughter, Cianah, and a grandson, Seth.

District 2. Brian McDonald of Leonard, N.D., was elected to his first four-year term. McDonald is a 26-year NDSA member. He, wife Cathy and their children, Ethan, Abby and Claire, operate a commercial Angus and SimAngus-cross cowherd. He also has a sheep enterprise and a diversified crop farm, raising corn, soybeans, sunflowers, oats and alfalfa.

District 3. Tim Erbele of Streeter, N.D., was re-elected to a second four-year term. He owns a 250-head Salers-Angus cow-calf operation, along with 150 head of bred Salers heifers with wife Ronda and their two daughters, Miranda and Addyson. He also operates a 1,200-head permitted feedlot and Purina feed dealership.

District 4. Joel Opp of Hebron, N.D., was elected to his first four-year term in. Opp and wife Jamie have three children, Natalie, Jamison and Wyatt. He and his father operate a registered Angus seedstock operation that was started by his grandfather in 1951. Opp had previously served two special one-year terms, when he filled an unexpired term.

District 5. Pete Best of Watford City, N.D., was re-elected to a second four-year term. Best, a 24-year NDSA member, wife Vawnita and their son Kyle manage a registered Angus cow herd. They also run a registered Quarter Horse operation.

District 6. Gary Martens of Ross, N.D., was elected to his first four-year term. The 18-year NDSA member has a 180-head commercial Angus cow-calf operation and grows flax, wheat, peas, soybeans and alfalfa.

Other members of the NDSA board of firectors and rxecutive vommittee include:

  • NDSA Immediate Past President Warren Zenker of Gackle, N.D.
  • District 1 Directors Justin Maddock of Maddock, N.D.; Levi Rue of Sheyenne, N.D.; and Erika Kenner of Leeds, N.D.
  • District 2 Directors Brian Amundson of Jamestown, N.D.; Gene Heinrich of Medina, N.D.; and Jeffrey Breker of Havana, N.D.; Craig Kemmet of Tappen; and Lowell Malard of Bismarck, N.D.
  • District 4 Directors Jamie Hauge of Carson, N.D.; Al Gustin of Mandan, N.D.; and Casey Voigt of Beulah, N.D.
  • District 5 Directors Pete Best of Watford City, N.D.; Joe Schettler of Killdeer, N.D.; and Calli Thorne of Watford City, N.D
  • District 6 Directors Shane Anderson of Towner, N.D.; Dennis Jacobson of Wildrose, N.D.; and Kevin Hansen of Ryder, N.D.

NDSA officers serve up to two one-year terms. Directors serve up to two four-year terms.

NDSA members interested in running for a leadership position should notify their district’s respective Nominating Committee members. The Nominating Committees traditionally name their candidates in June.

Source: NDSA, which is responsible for information provided and is wholly owned by source. Informa Business Media and subsidiaries aren’t responsible any of the content contained in this information asset.



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.