Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
beef cattle in field
BEEF DOLLARS: Checkoff funding is invested in beef promotion, consumer information, research, industry information and foreign market development, all to strengthen beef demand.

Beef producers elected to IBIC

Iowa Beef Industry Council helps make decisions on spending beef checkoff funds.

Beef producers recently elected Dan Hanrahan and Corinne Rowe to serve as directors of the executive committee of the Iowa Beef Industry Council. Hanrahan is a cow-calf producer from Cumming and Rowe is a cow-calf producer from Dallas Center. The committee is tasked with oversight of the $1-per-head national beef checkoff and the 50-cent-per-head Iowa checkoff.

At the January board meeting, Janine Moore, cow-calf producer from What Cheer, was appointed chairman. The committee also includes Kent Pruismann of Rock Valley, vice chair, and Tamara Heim of Logan, treasurer. Others serving are Mike Naig, Iowa ag secretary; Joe Colletti, interim dean of ISU College of Agriculture; Bill Goehring, Keosauqua Livestock Market; and two producers appointed by the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association — Dave Rueber of Luxemburg and Krista Frazee of Malvern.

The IBIC board has 21 members from the beef and dairy community to oversee beef checkoff programming and investments. Moore will lead the group of beef producers who oversee both national and state beef checkoff programs in Iowa.

Educating producers, consumers
“My appointment as chairman provides the opportunity to ensure we are educating the next generation of producers and consumers about beef,” says Moore. “The ability to share the farmer story and dispel many myths that exist about beef production by inspiring consumer confidence in beef products is vital. We have a mission to grow beef demand; it makes sense to place resources locally, domestically and internationally to maximize the investment.”

IBIC welcomed new board members Scott Cherne and Jenni Birker to one-year appointments. Cherne is a seedstock and cow-calf producer from Guttenberg; Birker is a cow-calf producer from Garrison. Other producers serving one-year terms are Alle Bailey, Diagonal; Mike Holden, Scranton; Mike Keuning, Monroe; Kent Musfeldt, Coon Rapids, and Dainna Smith, Decorah. 

Board members serving as national directors are Scott McGregor, Nashua; Scott Niess, Osage; Dean Black, Somers; Steve Rehder, Hawarden; and Dan Hanrahan, Cumming. Hanrahan serves on the executive committee in addition to his national director role.

Reaching younger consumers
“A focus this year will be on reaching millennial consumers, health professionals, retailers and chefs sharing the benefits of beef and the beef industry,” Moore says. “Iowa has 3 million consumers and 4 million head of cattle. Our resources can be enhanced by investing a portion of the checkoff funds outside of Iowa. Activities in the coming year are focused on state-to-state partnerships in urban areas where the number of consumers exceed the number of cattle.”

For more information about the beef checkoff program, visit

Source: IBIC, which is responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and its subsidiaries aren’t responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.