Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East
Corn+Soybean Digest

ASA Announces New Officers and Committee Assignments

The Board of Directors of the American Soybean Association (ASA) has confirmed Neal Bredehoeft from Alma, MO, as president, and Ron Heck, from Perry, IA, as chairman. Board members also elected Bob Metz from West Browns Valley, SD, to serve as First Vice President, an office that places Metz in line to be ASA president next year. Also elected were Bob Rikli from Murdock, NE, as secretary, and Ed Hegland from Appleton, MN, as treasurer. Four vice presidents were elected: Johnny Dodson from Dyersburg, TN, John Hoffman from Waterloo, IA, Gary Joachim from Claremont, MN, and Richard Ostlie from Northwood, ND. These soybean producer-leaders form the nine-member ASA executive committee. Elections were held during ASA’s summer Board of Director’s meeting in Saint Louis.

"Competitiveness is a key issue for soybean farmers," said new ASA President Neal Bredehoeft. "To maintain our competitiveness, ASA must continue actively working to protect the vitality of our domestic livestock customers, reduce foreign tariffs and remove trade barriers, improve our transportation infrastructure and protect the United States from Asian soybean rust."

New First Vice President Bob Metz said, "One of my priorities is education for grassroots soybean leaders and voting delegates. We need viability for our state associations and good decision-making for policy development." Metz, who is also Chairman of the National Biodiesel Board, added, "When I look at a soybean field, I see high protein soy meal and biodiesel."

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. The Public Affairs Committee Chairman is Bob Metz. Committee members are Dan Beenken (IA), Randy DeSutter (IL), Johnny Dodson (TN), Scott Fritz (IN), Doug Hartz (AR), Ron Heck (IA), Gary Langel (IA), Joe Layton (Mid-Atlantic), Greg Leonard (OK), Liam McCreery (Canada), Danny Murphy (MS), Barb Overlie (MN), Bart Ruth (NE), Ward Shaw (NC), Curt Sindergard (IA), Joe Steiner (OH), and Carl Weets (TX).

Bob Rikli was appointed Chairman of the Trade Policy & International Affairs Committee. Western World and Middle East Sub-Chair is Dennis Friest (IA), and Asia Sub-Chair is Ron Gibson (MO), with committee members Dwain Ford (IL), Roger Hadley (IN), Glen Janssen (IA), Rob Joslin (OH), Brad Mathson (WI), Gary Joachim (MN), Richard Ostlie (ND), Charles Skalsky (VA), Jack Trumbo (KY), and Bill Wiley (KS).

The Membership Services & Corporate Relations committee Chairman is John Hoffman (IA), with Tony Anderson (OH), Lorraine Birschbach (WI), Charles Cannatella (LA), John Cooper (AR), Corwin Fee (IA), M.D. Floyd (SC), Ed Hegland (MN), Dennis Jaeger (SD), Ron Kindred (IL), Randy Mann (KY), Joseph Mills (AL), Bart Waller (GA/FL), Kristin Weeks-Duncanson (MN), and Andy Welden (MI).

Ed Hegland (MN) was appointed Chairman of the Finance Committee, with John Cooper (AR), M.S. Floyd (SC), Dennis Friest (IA), Doug Hartz (AR), Bart Ruth (NE), and Bill Wiley (KS) serving as committee members.

The Board welcomed five new members who are Ron Kindred (IL), Randy Mann (KY), Kristin Weeks-Ducanson (MN), Danny Murphy (MS), and Rob Joslin (OH). ASA also recognized retiring directors David Hand (OH), Darryl Brinkmann (IL), Roger Dale (MN), and Marc Curtis (MS) for their years of service.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.