Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

American Phytopathological Society announces awards

The American Phytopathological Society (APS) has announced its 2005 award recipients. These awards were presented at the recent APS annual meeting in Austin, Texas.

APS grants the fellow designation to current members in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology or to the society. The nine members named fellows in the society were: Carol L. Bender, Oklahoma State University; Raghaven Charudattan, University of Florida-Gainesville; Jacqueline Fletcher, Oklahoma State University; Christopher A. Gilligan, University of Cambridge; Walter Friedrich Otto Marasas, South Africa Medical Research Council, Tygerberg, South Africa; Bruce McDonald, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland; Robert A. Owens, USDA Plant Virology Laboratory, Beltsville, Md.; Gail Lynn Schumann, Marquette University; Xiao-Bing Yang, Iowa State University.

Melodie Putnam, Oregon State University, was presented the Excellence in Extension Award. This award recognizes excellence in Extension plant pathology.

Caitilyn Allen, University of Wisconsin-Madison, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. This award recognizes excellence in teaching plant pathology.

The International Service Award was presented to James R. Steadman, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. This award honors outstanding contributions to plant pathology by APS members for a country other than his or her own.

Californian honored

The Ruth Allen Award for Innovative Research was presented Andrew Otis Jackson, University of California-Berkeley and Thomas Jack Morris, University of Nebraska. This award honors individuals who have made an innovative research contribution that has changed, or has the potential to change, the direction of work in any field of plant pathology.

Thomas J. Wolpert, Oregon State University, received the Noel T. Keen Award for Research in Molecular Plant Pathology. This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in host-pathogen interactions, plant pathogens or plant-associated microbes, molecular biology of disease development, or defense mechanisms.

The Syngenta Award went to James R. Alfano, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Syngenta gives this award to an APS member for an outstanding recent contribution to teaching, research, or Extension in plant pathology.

Full descriptions of each of the awardees are available at The American Phytopathological Society is a non-profit, professional scientific organization dedicated to the study and control of plant disease with 5,000 members worldwide.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.