is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards appointed

Twenty-four members and 11 alternate members have been appointed to the Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards by Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer. The committee was re-established by a charter issued in 2007.

Members of the committee represent merchants, manufacturers, ginners and producers.

The members and alternates recently named will serve for the two-year period of the committee charter.

Merchant members are: T. Jordan Lea, Greenville, S.C.; Bobby Walton, Memphis, Tenn; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; Craig R. Stevens, Fresno, Calif.; Frederick W. Barrier, Greenwood, Miss.; and Lonnie D. Winters, Lubbock, Texas.

Manufacturer members are: William E. Bowen Jr., Inman, S.C.; John B. Cleveland II, Easley, S.C.; David T. Koon, Columbus, Ga.; Eugene C. Frye, Gastonia, N.C.; G. Michael Beeker, Sanford, N.C.; and Billy R. Henderson, Williamston, S.C.

Ginner members are: Kirk D. Gilkey, Corcoran, Calif.; Chris W. Breedlove, Olton, Texas; W. Sledge Taylor III, Como, Miss.; and Van F. Murphy, Quitman, Ga.

Producer members are: C. Heath Watson, Mayesville, S.C.; David M. Dunlow, Gaston, N.C.; Thad R. Freeland, Tillar Ark.; Ben L. Lamensdorf, Cary, Miss.; Craig D. Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Jackie L. Burris, Wellman, Texas; Donald J. Cameron, Helm, Calif.; and Diann D. Prechel Shearer, Coolidge, Ariz.

Merchant alternate members are: Claud A. Acker, Bakersfield, Calif.; Richard L. Clarke, Cordova, Tenn.; and John D. Mitchell, Cordova, Tenn.

Manufacturer alternate members are: Trey Hodges, Columbus, Ga.; and H. Malloy Evans, Sanford, N.C.

Ginner alternate members are: Charles C. Owen Sr., Pima, Ariz.; and William R. Greene, Courtland, Ala.

Producer alternate members are: R. Taylor Slade, Williamston, N.C.; William A. Guthrie Jr., Newellton, La.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Okla.; and Alisa Ogden, Loving, N.M.

The committee will review the Universal American Upland Cotton Standards and make recommendations to the secretary of agriculture concerning establishment and revision of Universal Cotton Standards. The marketing of U.S. cotton is supported and enhanced through the committee’s participation in the development of the standards.

Foreign participation in the Universal Cotton Standards development program is a longstanding tradition, and the committee provides for parallel participation by domestic and international cotton interests.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.