Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS

Kansas 4-H celebrates state project winners

Courtesy of Kansas 4-H Foundation The Kansas 4-H Foundation top achievers in each project area at the Emerald Circle Awards Banquet, Manhattan, Kan., June 2
STATE PROJECT WINNERS: The Kansas 4-H Foundation celebrated the top achievers in each project area at the Emerald Circle Awards Banquet on June 2, in Manhattan, Kan. Read their names in the story below.
The Kansas 4-H Foundation recognized state winners during the 2022 Emerald Circle banquet.

It takes more than just skill in a project area for a Kansas 4-H member to earn the title of state project winner.

Each year, 4-H youth of all ages submit Kansas Project Report forms, and one state winner is selected from the senior division (ages 14-18) for each project. In addition to learning new project skills, these youth must also demonstrate growth and strength in leadership, organization, civic engagement, and above all, communication.

The Kansas 4-H Foundation celebrates the top achievers in each project area at the Emerald Circle Awards Banquet, held this year June 2 in Manhattan, Kan. Pictured are, first row: John Langill, Seneca (left); Alex Young, Marion; Claire Walker-Helsel, Wallace; Adelle Higbie, Overbrook; Morgan Vogts, Waverly; Kaylen Langhofer, Plains; Amy Crow, Wichita; and Lynnea Nelson, Carbondale. Second row: Callie Jones, Abilene (left); Shelby Smith, Fredonia; Jenna DeRouchey, Wamego; Elizabeth Seeger, Moundridge; Aleah Staggenborg, Marysville; Acacia Pracht, Lindsborg; Claire Mullen, Lawrence; and Daegen DeGraff, Concordia. Third row: Josiah Stockebrand, Yates Center (left); Kyle Ruehle, Dodge City; Tyler Gillespie, Colony; Eric Shapland, Scott City; Clara Johnson, Nortonville; Wyatt Fechter, Howard; Adam Snowball, Abilene; and Natalee Bray, Scandia. Not pictured were: Maddix Small, Neodesha; Sukesh Kamesh, Kingman; and Ashton Bearly, Ludell.

In previous years, Emerald Circle was attended by state project winners, their families, Extension agents, and some of Kansas 4-H’s biggest donors. But this year, organizers merged Kansas 4-H Discovery Days and Emerald Circle, which took place simultaneously June 1-3 on the Kansas State University campus in Manhattan.

Approximately 200 additional 4-H youth attended the event, which included the recognition of state project winners, keynote speakers and Call Hall ice cream. The change, organizers said, was partially driven by the goal of increasing awareness of the state project awards and giving the younger members something to aspire to.

“We have an impressive set of young people who have accomplished so much in their 4-H project work,” said Beth Hinshaw, a 4-H Youth Development specialist in the southeast region. “Being named a project award winner is one of the highest individual achievements within Kansas 4-H. All it takes is one spark to ignite that passion in a 4-H project that can then create so many learning opportunities, and even the possibility of a future career.”

Being a state project winner indicates prior excellence and points to future potential, Hinshaw said. Youth must display leadership skills and heart for service by organizing events like community service projects, project meetings to share their expertise with younger 4-H members, and other unique efforts.

These project winners are also eligible to attend the National 4-H Congress in Atlanta in November.

The list of this year’s project winners, in alphabetical order by category, are:

  • Beef. Wyatt Fechter, Howard
  • Civic Engagement. Aleah Staggenborg, Marysville
  • Clothing and Textiles. Claire Mullen, Lawrence
  • Communications. Kyle Ruehle, Dodge City
  • Dairy. John Langill, Seneca
  • Dog Care and Training. Callie Jones, Abilene
  • Entomology. Maddix Small, Neodesha
  • Fiber Arts. Amy Crow, Wichita
  • Foods and Nutrition. Elizabeth Seeger, Moundridge
  • Health and Wellness. Sukesh Kamesh, Kingman
  • Horse. Natalee Bray, Scandia
  • Leadership. Claire Walker-Helsel, Wallace
  • Meat Goats. Adelle Higbie, Overbrook
  • Performing Arts. Alex Young, Marion
  • Photography. Eric Shapland, Scott City
  • Plant Science. Adam Snowball, Abilene
  • Poultry. Kaylen Langhofer, Plains
  • Rabbits. Clara Johnson, Nortonville
  • Reading. Acacia Pracht, Lindsborg
  • Shep. Tyler Gillespie, Colony
  • Shooting Sports. Shelby Smith, Fredonia
  • STEM (science, engineering, technology and math). Josiah Stockebrand, Yates Center
  • STEM Energy Management. Ashton Bearly, Ludell
  • Swine. Jenna DeRouchey, Wamego
  • Visual Arts. Daegen DeGraff, Concordia
  • Wildlife. Lynnea Nelson, Carbondale
  • Wood Science. Morgan Vogts, Waverly
Source: Kansas State Research and Extension is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


TAGS: Education
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.