Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

2004 ASA/DuPont young leaders

ST. LOUIS, Mo. — Scott and Susan Matthews of Weiner, Ark., Reese and Allison Pillow of Greenwood, Miss., Jay Schutte of Benton City, Mo., and Ben and Jennifer Moore of Dresden, Tenn., have been named 2004 Young Leaders under a program sponsored by the American Soybean Association and Pioneer, a DuPont Company.

The Mid-South leaders joined representatives from 19 other states and Canada in the weeklong program that targets soybean farmers who are “innovative, assertive, young in leadership and looking to make their mark in agriculture.”

Now entering its 21st year, the program has a record of success. Hundreds of program alumni have assumed significant leadership responsibilities in state and national soybean associations, promotion boards, and national, regional, and state agricultural organizations, including Farm Bureau, National Corn Growers Association and more.

Nearly all are making a difference in agriculture by insuring the voice of the American farmer is being heard.

The 2004 class of ASA/DuPont Young Leaders participated in a recent three-day seminar in Las Vegas, Nev., that included leadership and issues training, and provided an opportunity for participants to meet and learn from other young leaders from around the country. Class members also took part in the Commodity Classic, rounding out a full week of learning, networking, and personal growth.

In December 2004, participants will travel to Pioneer’s offices in Johnston, Iowa, to complete their training.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.